We hope you'll join us for our 4/23 webinar on using data tables to apply reference ranges and AE codes in OC4. For more information and to register, visit https://register.gotowebinar.com/register/2882170018956684555

Question about AEs and SAEs

Hi,

I'm still learning about the clinical trial industry... this question has two parts,
a) on the business and operation's side, my guess is, when an AE happens and particularly SAE the PI needs to be notified asap, does finding, recording and reporting such event a site CRC's job?  And what's CRA's role in AEs and SAEs if any?
b) I ran a quick test by adding an AE event. 
Naturally the following sql query found it,
   select se.*
   from study_event se, study_event_definition sed
   where se.study_event_definition_id = sed.study_event_definition_id
and sed.name = 'Adverse Events'
question, when or if such an AE or SAE event goes to the event_crf table?  If so how does it happen (who and what actions has/have happened, detailed work flow for this)?

Many thanks.

Don

Tagged:

Comments

• kristiakkristiak Posts: 1,334 ✭✭✭

Hi Don,

a) This rally depends on how the responsibilities are distributed within the specific study. Normally the CRC enters all data. If an AE or serious AE is reported it is up to the PI to evaluate it on the AE page. For SAE's a much more detailed form needs to be completed very quickly depending on in which country study is being performed. This will the responsibility of the  CRA or project manager to make sure this form is submitted to the authorities within the timeframes required by local law.

b) To make sure that the correct people are notified whenever a serious AE is entered into OpenClinica you create a rule as outlined below! This rule will notify anyone specified if a serious AE is entered into the system. You never have to resort SQL queries. This run fully automatic!

<!--
    Rules for CRF AE
    Cretated by Krister Kristianson
    http://www.e-source.se
    Last updated: 2012-05-22