simultaneous data entry and data export issues

Hi everyone,

I reaching you to try to get some answers to issues we are facing with OpenClinica. I should mention that I am not computer scientist at all, I am a biologist working in a translational research lab. So my questions may be very naïve, and I apologize in advance!

Here our story.
Couple of years ago, we decided to use Openclinica as an EDC for our clinical trial. Indeed, without entering into the details, we needed to design multi-disease CRFs. We ended up with 28 CRFs capturing > 5000 items in a single visit!
Now, time passed, IT infrastructure was improved and we finally setup an Openclinica instance on a linux virtual machine (centOs) with 4Go RAM (upgraded to 32Go recently), 15Go Disk space, 8 cores. We started the data entry couple of monthes ago, and we quickly faced several issues (unsolved with the RAM upgrade):
- simultaneous data entry from more than one crashes the VM
- going through the CRFs, meaning loading pages one after the other, crashes the VM
- data export of all the item for all the patients (about 100) never completed

So, I'm here to ask what's wrong in our design? is there any solution to improve the performances?

Thank you very much in advance for any comment and suggestion!
Cheers
Encarnita

Tagged:

Comments

• kristiakkristiak Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭
    Hi Encarnita,