different units of measurement

Hello everyone,
I am wondering if it is possible to create a CRF-Item where the
data-entry person is able to choose between different measuring units.
E.g.: Hemoglobin concentration may be documented as
'mmol/l' or 'g/dl'. On the paper-based form, there is a list with
permissible units of which the appropriate one is marked.
How to model this in OpenClinica?
Kind regards,
Christian
-- Diplom-Wirtschaftsinformatiker Christian Forster Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster Institut für Wirtschaftsinformatik Lehrstuhl für Informatik Leonardo-Campus 3 48149 Münster Tel.: +49 251 83-38157 http://dbis-group.uni-muenster.de

Comments

  • stickysticky Posts: 39
    I would suggest creating a single-select drop down list (items tab, response_type = single-select).
    Kind Regards,
    Alecia
    -----Original Message-----
    Sent: Friday, May 14, 2010 6:46 AM
    To: users@openclinica.org
    Subject: [Users] different units of measurement
    Hello everyone,
    I am wondering if it is possible to create a CRF-Item where the data-entry person is able to choose between different measuring units.
    E.g.: Hemoglobin concentration may be documented as 'mmol/l' or 'g/dl'. On the paper-based form, there is a list with permissible units of which the appropriate one is marked.
    How to model this in OpenClinica?
    Kind regards,
    Christian
    --
    Diplom-Wirtschaftsinformatiker Christian Forster Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster Institut für Wirtschaftsinformatik Lehrstuhl für Informatik Leonardo-Campus 3
    48149 Münster
    Tel.: +49 251 83-38157
    http://dbis-group.uni-muenster.de
  • rwattsrwatts Posts: 102
    R.
    -----Original Message-----
    Sent: May 14, 2010 6:46 AM
    To: users@openclinica.org
    Subject: [Users] different units of measurement
    Hello everyone,
    I am wondering if it is possible to create a CRF-Item where the data-entry person is able to choose between different measuring units.
    E.g.: Hemoglobin concentration may be documented as 'mmol/l' or 'g/dl'. On the paper-based form, there is a list with permissible units of which the appropriate one is marked.
    How to model this in OpenClinica?
    Kind regards,
    Christian
    --
    Diplom-Wirtschaftsinformatiker Christian Forster Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster Institut für Wirtschaftsinformatik Lehrstuhl für Informatik Leonardo-Campus 3
    48149 Münster
    Tel.: +49 251 83-38157
    http://dbis-group.uni-muenster.de
  • kristiakkristiak Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭
    a calculated field. We do this for every field that can be entered with
    different units since it will have to be converted in the stat analysis
    anyhow. In this way both the original and the converted unit can be
    displayed in the database. This is similar to our procedures for the coding
    of AE's, we store and display both the original term as well as the MedDRA
    name.
    Regards
    Krister
    -----Original Message-----
    On Behalf Of Christian Forster
    Sent: 14 May 2010 14:46
    To: users@openclinica.org
    Subject: [Users] different units of measurement
    Hello everyone,
    I am wondering if it is possible to create a CRF-Item where the
    data-entry person is able to choose between different measuring units.
    E.g.: Hemoglobin concentration may be documented as
    'mmol/l' or 'g/dl'. On the paper-based form, there is a list with
    permissible units of which the appropriate one is marked.
    How to model this in OpenClinica?
    Kind regards,
    Christian
    -- Diplom-Wirtschaftsinformatiker Christian Forster Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster Institut für Wirtschaftsinformatik Lehrstuhl für Informatik Leonardo-Campus 3 48149 Münster Tel.: +49 251 83-38157 http://dbis-group.uni-muenster.de
  • rwattsrwatts Posts: 102
    I'm intrigued that you display the MedDRA name. I've had terrible trouble with this. When our investigators saw the code that we had applied to the adverse event they often wanted it changed. Since coding can be study specific and is not normally the responsibility of the sites my policy is not to apply the codes in OpenClinica.
    Rick.
    -----Original Message-----
    Sent: May 18, 2010 9:18 AM
    To: christian.forster@wi.uni-muenster.de; users@openclinica.org
    Subject: RE: [Users] different units of measurement
    We have resolved this by converting everything to mmol/l. You can do that as
    a calculated field. We do this for every field that can be entered with
    different units since it will have to be converted in the stat analysis
    anyhow. In this way both the original and the converted unit can be
    displayed in the database. This is similar to our procedures for the coding
    of AE's, we store and display both the original term as well as the MedDRA
    name.
    Regards
    Krister
    -----Original Message-----
    On Behalf Of Christian Forster
    Sent: 14 May 2010 14:46
    To: users@openclinica.org
    Subject: [Users] different units of measurement
    Hello everyone,
    I am wondering if it is possible to create a CRF-Item where the
    data-entry person is able to choose between different measuring units.
    E.g.: Hemoglobin concentration may be documented as
    'mmol/l' or 'g/dl'. On the paper-based form, there is a list with
    permissible units of which the appropriate one is marked.
    How to model this in OpenClinica?
    Kind regards,
    Christian
    -- Diplom-Wirtschaftsinformatiker Christian Forster Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster Institut für Wirtschaftsinformatik Lehrstuhl für Informatik Leonardo-Campus 3 48149 Münster Tel.: +49 251 83-38157 http://dbis-group.uni-muenster.de
  • kristiakesourcekristiakesource Posts: 133
    Maybe it is easier for us since most investigators will accept that we know
    the English language better than they do and hence we rarely have a problem
    with the coding. Frequently, though, they will write several words in local
    language that we will have to code into one MedDRA code. We are very
    flexible with this, some sites actually likes to do the coding themselves.
    That can cause more of a problem when we have to change the code and explain
    to them why. Sometimes they do change the verbatim local language term.
    Krister
    -----Original Message-----
    On Behalf Of rick.watts@ualberta.ca
    Sent: 18 May 2010 18:22
    To: users@openclinica.org
    Subject: RE: [Users] different units of measurement
    I'm intrigued that you display the MedDRA name. I've had terrible trouble
    with this. When our investigators saw the code that we had applied to the
    adverse event they often wanted it changed. Since coding can be study
    specific and is not normally the responsibility of the sites my policy is
    not to apply the codes in OpenClinica.
    Rick.
    -----Original Message-----
    On Behalf Of Krister J. Kristianson
    Sent: May 18, 2010 9:18 AM
    To: christian.forster@wi.uni-muenster.de; users@openclinica.org
    Subject: RE: [Users] different units of measurement
    We have resolved this by converting everything to mmol/l. You can do that as
    a calculated field. We do this for every field that can be entered with
    different units since it will have to be converted in the stat analysis
    anyhow. In this way both the original and the converted unit can be
    displayed in the database. This is similar to our procedures for the coding
    of AE's, we store and display both the original term as well as the MedDRA
    name.
    Regards
    Krister
    -----Original Message-----
    On Behalf Of Christian Forster
    Sent: 14 May 2010 14:46
    To: users@openclinica.org
    Subject: [Users] different units of measurement
    Hello everyone,
    I am wondering if it is possible to create a CRF-Item where the
    data-entry person is able to choose between different measuring units.
    E.g.: Hemoglobin concentration may be documented as
    'mmol/l' or 'g/dl'. On the paper-based form, there is a list with
    permissible units of which the appropriate one is marked.
    How to model this in OpenClinica?
    Kind regards,
    Christian
    -- Diplom-Wirtschaftsinformatiker Christian Forster Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster Institut für Wirtschaftsinformatik Lehrstuhl für Informatik Leonardo-Campus 3 48149 Münster Tel.: +49 251 83-38157 http://dbis-group.uni-muenster.de
  • mvirtosumvirtosu Posts: 272
    Rick,
    Perhaps this would be a good example where hidden questions would come in handy.
    I would suggest the Akaza team take this as a feature request: the ability to have hidden questions on the CRF.
    Thanks,
    Mihai
    -----Original Message-----
    Sent: Tuesday, May 18, 2010 10:22 AM
    To: users@openclinica.org
    Subject: RE: [Users] different units of measurement
    I'm intrigued that you display the MedDRA name. I've had terrible trouble with this. When our investigators saw the code that we had applied to the adverse event they often wanted it changed. Since coding can be study specific and is not normally the responsibility of the sites my policy is not to apply the codes in OpenClinica.
    Rick.
    -----Original Message-----
    Sent: May 18, 2010 9:18 AM
    To: christian.forster@wi.uni-muenster.de; users@openclinica.org
    Subject: RE: [Users] different units of measurement
    We have resolved this by converting everything to mmol/l. You can do that as
    a calculated field. We do this for every field that can be entered with
    different units since it will have to be converted in the stat analysis
    anyhow. In this way both the original and the converted unit can be
    displayed in the database. This is similar to our procedures for the coding
    of AE's, we store and display both the original term as well as the MedDRA
    name.
    Regards
    Krister
    -----Original Message-----
    On Behalf Of Christian Forster
    Sent: 14 May 2010 14:46
    To: users@openclinica.org
    Subject: [Users] different units of measurement
    Hello everyone,
    I am wondering if it is possible to create a CRF-Item where the
    data-entry person is able to choose between different measuring units.
    E.g.: Hemoglobin concentration may be documented as
    'mmol/l' or 'g/dl'. On the paper-based form, there is a list with
    permissible units of which the appropriate one is marked.
    How to model this in OpenClinica?
    Kind regards,
    Christian
    -- Diplom-Wirtschaftsinformatiker Christian Forster Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster Institut für Wirtschaftsinformatik Lehrstuhl für Informatik Leonardo-Campus 3 48149 Münster Tel.: +49 251 83-38157 http://dbis-group.uni-muenster.de
  • RCHENURCHENU Posts: 156
    Hey Kristiak,

    I read one of your post were you said "a calculated field. We do this for every field that can be entered with different units since it will have to be converted in the stat analysis
    anyhow".
    Can you please provide an example for that because I'm not sure to see how you do that ?

    Let's take the temperature for example:
    We would have one field to capture the value and then a dropdown to select the unit (fahrenheit, celsius).
    We want the calculated field in Kelvin. Can you send me an xls file showing me how to do that depending on the chosen unit ?

    Thanks a lot !!

    Romain.
  • GerbenRienkGerbenRienk Posts: 731 ✭✭✭
    Hi Romain,
    That is explained in the wikibook:
    https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/OpenClinica_User_Manual/Calculations
    Kind regards,
    Gerben Rienk
  • RCHENURCHENU Posts: 156
    Perfect. I didn't know it was possible to use "Decode".
    Sorry and thank you for your answer.

    Romain.
Sign In or Register to comment.