We hope you'll join us for our 4/23 webinar on using data tables to apply reference ranges and AE codes in OC4. For more information and to register, visit https://register.gotowebinar.com/register/2882170018956684555

normal range checks vs Male and female

Dear OC users,
I’m new to OC and I am trying to set up a study where we will collect laboratory tests results and enter them into OC.
My problem is that I want OC to flag all “out of normal range” values, but normal ranges are different for male and female.
Is it possible to set up two different ranges for the same item, and link range to apply with another item?
Did anyone solve this problem before?
Many thanks in advance for your help.

Emeric REYNAUD, MSc
ImmunoClin
Les Cordeliers
15 Rue de l’ecole de Medecine
Escalier E, 2½ étage
75006 PARIS, France
Tel : + 33 (0) 1 46 33 45 35
Fax : +33 (0) 1 72 70 35 44
[email protected]

Comments

• Dear OC users,
    I’m new to OC and I am trying to set up a study where we will collect laboratory tests results and enter them into OC.
    My problem is that I want OC to flag all “out of normal range” values, but normal ranges are different for male and female.
    Is it possible to set up two different ranges for the same item, and link range to apply with another item?

Emeric REYNAUD, MSc
    ImmunoClin
    Les Cordeliers
    Escalier E, 2½ étage
    75006 PARIS, France
    [email protected]
  • rwattsrwatts Posts: 102
    My experience of normal ranges is that they are also dependent on the subject’s age, vary from laboratory to laboratory and could change if equipment is changed or recalibrated during a study. For these reasons I have always validated lab data externally from the EDC system, hopefully having obtained the data in an electronic format from the lab.