We hope you'll join us for our 4/23 webinar on using data tables to apply reference ranges and AE codes in OC4. For more information and to register, visit https://register.gotowebinar.com/register/2882170018956684555

Study build planning for SAS 9.3

Hello,
I am new to this and am in the process of building a study that will be using SAS 9.3. From what I have gathered from various resources, I need to avoid partial dates, and stick with 8 character naming conventions. Since I am starting from scratch, any other advice for avoiding errors upon study completion and upload into SAS? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks!
Mary

Comments

• Mary,
    Please look for the post: "RE: [Users] Importing OC Data into SAS" from July. I am pasting my reply to that post below.

Besides rules about the lengths of item_name and response_label listed in that post, I recommend a lot of testing.
    When we are starting a new study, we do several rounds of testing:
    1) once the excel eCRF spreadsheet is created, we review it to make sure all of the rules referenced in the "RE: [Users] Importing OC Data into SAS" post are met. We also make sure things are spelled correctly, and that only fields that need to be Required are set to Required (it is impossible to make an item not required without a form version change. Another note about required--we don't make anything required (or radio type) in a repeating question group, because then it would be impossible to remove the row is someone accidentally created the row...)